• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!
  • If you are seeing this, you are on the new TGP servers. Bear with us as we work out any issues related to the move. The end result should be a far better snappier experience on TGP. *Notice: You can close this notice by clicking on the "X" in the upper right corner.

Removing all six strings at once

hag01

I have to remove all six strings from my electric guitar and clean the pickups and the area near the pickups from dust.

I’m afraid it will damage the intonation.
In what order should I install the strings?
Any other tips to avoid changing the intonation?

I saw some YouTube tutorials about adjusting intonation but I have no experience doing it, so it will be best not to have to.

Thanks in advance.

fatoni

Maybe if you have a tune o matic bridge but I've never really run into that issue outside of that. Not an expert though

green_henry

Gold Supporting Member
In theory, if you remove or even loosen the strings, you are taking tension off of the truss rod and it will tend to loosen

...in my experience, this is just theory or, at least, not noticeable in most circumstances. May be valid for extended periods, but not for a day or two.

That's the way to do it. That way you can really clean up your guitar, polish your frets, condition your board if needed, etc.
And yes, every time you check the intonation, as every string set is different even if using the same one.
Get used to this and your guitar will play and sound the best it can : )

jwguitar

I have to remove all six strings from my electric guitar and clean the pickups and the area near the pickups from dust.

I’m afraid it will damage the intonation.
In what order should I install the strings?
Any other tips to avoid changing the intonation?

I saw some YouTube tutorials about adjusting intonation but I have no experience doing it, so it will be best not to have to.