• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Replacement multi-effects rack unit?

skhan007

Silver Supporting Member
Hi Guys- I'm relatively new to my rack set up and have just recently gotten a Synergy SYN2 and a couple of modules. I've unearthed my ancient Alesis Quadraverb, which I bought new waaaaay back in the day. Well, I'm noting a few things:

1. It kind of sucks tone. I have to EQ the Synergy modules with way more mids and highs to compensate, when the Quadraverb is in the series FX loop. When the Quadraverb is unplugged, everything sounds brighter, more present, more open, etc.

2. Significant volume drop when the Quadraverb is plugged into the FX loop. I suppose it's not a big deal to simply turn up the levels to compensate.

So, if I wanted a "transparent" multi-effects rack (that doesn't suck tone and drop the volume level so significantly), what do you recommend?

I'd be fine with new or used, but don't want to spend tons of money if possible. I'm using reverb, delay, and chorus (occasionally) and would need MIDI capability. Thoughts, experiences, and recommendations are most appreciated.

NunoVanbamsteen

Silver Supporting Member
I would go TC electronic, G major, G force, G system.
I’m selling a G major, has the box and papers, PM me if interested.
The G major has some really nice effects, all the basic time and modulation effects you need plus gating and compression. It also has a couple midi controllable switch outs on the back that can be used for turning off and on other devices, which you can also assign a midi controller to and use independently if you’re willing to put in a lil extra work.