Replacement trem for a MIM strat

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by tmihm, Jan 30, 2012.

1. tmihm

tmihm Silver Supporting Member

I'm looking to upgrade the trem on my MIM strat to something a little better. I've been checking the Callaham ones and they seem pretty nice for what I need.

Does anyone have any other suggestions before I pull the trigger on one?

Thanks a bunch. If anyone has one for sale, I need one with a 2 1/16" spacing. I'll post a WTB in the Classifed section after I get some feedback.

Terry

2. Chris Scott

Chris Scott Member

I've installed a number of the Callaham units in the same guitar, with very satisfactory results - it will really bring the guitar to another level, both sound and function-wise.

I can't think of any other models save for the Babicz unit that have the 2-1/16" string spacing for the "vintage style" (6-screw pivot) trem, and as I've no experience with it, I can't give you any feedback + or -.

3. fumbler

fumbler Member

Make sure you know the difference between the screw spacing and the string spacing. Sometimes they're different.

I have only good things to say about Callaham but my next trem will be a Blade Runner 'cause I wanna try one out.

4. Ymir

Ymir Member

5. Mike9

Mike9 Supporting Member

The GFS D45 with steel block is a great trem for the money as well as the one with the solid brass block.

6. m-m-m

m-m-m Member

+1 on Callaham. I haven't tried any of the others mentioned but the Callahan made a very noticeable impact to sustain. Tone was also improved.

7. Sensible Musician

Sensible Musician Member