Requesting top Blues & Rock licks/tricks

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by 1Way, Nov 14, 2005.

1. 1Way

1Way Member

I'm a beginner at lead. I want to go thru the Blues before really getting to Rock and Roll. I know a bit about the Pentatonic and blues scales, especially the first position. I would like help starting out in leadwork for Blues, and blues type Rock and Roll.

I know about basic things like bends and hammer ons etc, so that is not the sort of thing I'm looking for. Besides learning a scant few signature leads, I know about "1" lead trick/move!

My example
    It's a classic rock and roll trick that is reminiscent of Chuck Berry's style. Playing the first position starting at the nut. You pick the 3rd string on the second fret, and the 2nd string open at the same time. Then you bend up the 3rd string (one step/fret) while both strings are ringing out.

You can also just pick the 3rd string alone, then bend it up one fret's worth, then strike the 1st and 2nd open strings together. There are some variations on this theme, but this is one cool foundational classic lick trick.

TAB and sound bytes are cool
    If possible, I would prefer including guitar tab, sound files help too. Of course, video would be great, but who's got such things readily handy.

So please either list, explain, tab, or otherwise display your top 5 lead tricks/licks.

Thanks!

Training resource suggestions
    Also, if you know of any excellent training resource over such things, please link or suggest away!

2. Tim Bowen

Tim Bowen Member

Hi,

Licks and tricks are great. Learn a bunch of them. That's how I/we/you have built a vocabulary.