Resistors differences?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Stratman69, Dec 17, 2009.

1. Stratman69

Stratman69 Member

As far as I know, there are many different types of resistors. However, my main ones of interest are the following:

-Carbon Comp

-Metal film

-Carbon Film

-Surface mount

What are the differences between all these resistors? What are their gains/disadvantages? If they have any that is..

2. Drifting

Drifting Member

I'm a novice at this stuff, but from what I understand:

It depends on the application. I definitely noticed a difference when I switched out my carbon film resistors with carbon comp. in my JTM45's pre amp, it rounded out the top end which could get a little harsh when pushed or using single coils. The amp's a bit darker now too, and I like it. Now, the CC's do drift in their tolerances, this can be good or bad.

There is a distinguishable difference in noise though. My CC's are admittedly a little louder, but as long as they're only used in portions of the circuit that don't contribute to excess noise, it's not so bad. People seem to have the most success by using BOTH CF and CC.

And alot of people have preferred the sound of the CF's, so it depends again on the application, and player. CF's are generally more reliable too.

Metal films have a reputation for sounding harsh. I won't be throwing any in my JTM, but there are some pedals that use them that sound great, again; the application is important. It isn't that metal films are 'bad' resistors, it just depends on what you're going for.

3. jb1911

jb1911 Member

4. anais

anais Member

metal film is least noisy and has 1% tolerance or sway in value.. best for pedals.

carbon comps are noisy. good in applications in some point in amplifiers and pedals but can cause mad noise in other spots- where I am not sure... be weary

carbon films are cheap.. a bit noisy, and have a 5% tolerance usually.. cheap, not as accurate.. that about all i know