Resonator Guitar: who makes the best sounding, affordable full metal body resonator?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by echo unit, Jun 19, 2006.

1. echo unit

echo unit Member

I am looking for a resonator guitar that is all metal body and has the classic F hole look.

What comapny originally made the first ones that Delta Blues slide guitarists used way back when?

I am looking to spend around $1000 maximum and want to know what comapny will make one of these that sounds best and is the best quality for around $1000?

I have taken note of 4 comapnies making these:

Epiphone
    Regal
    Johnson
    Dobro

If any of you are experts in this area, please inform me. I am new to resonator guitars but love the sound.

Thanks for your help folks!

2. notpetrucci

notpetrucci Member

Can you not find an old National Duolian for around 1000?

Seems like you'd be able to

-Jon

3. Mullet Kingdom

Mullet Kingdom Senior Member

As far as I know NATIONAL made the first resonator/dobros.

Dean makes two different models that list for $799. Dean Heirloom Resonators

Gold Tone is another one you should definitely checkout. Gold Tone

For more manufacturers and other assorted info go to Resoguit.com

I've got a Regal RD-52 Black Lightning square neck dobro that's a great instrument for the money.

Good luck.

4. SarasotaSlim

SarasotaSlim Member

5. RickC

RickC Gold Supporting Member

+1 on the Deans; they are generally great out of the box, and you can upgrade the cone if you want and still come in well under budget.

/rick

6. bek

bek Member

7. echo unit

echo unit Member

Splatt,

Thanks for the advice.

Which National Metal Body Resonator do you have?

I hear that the Tri-cone design is superior? National Tricones are pricey

I was thinking that the Johnson or Regal ones may be close in sound but maybe not?

Which Resonator guitar does Michael Brook have? I see he is pictured with one on the back cover of the Djivan Gasparyan album Black Rock.