Restoring Fender Harvard without losing value...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Rekoil, May 10, 2016.

1. Rekoil

Rekoil Member

So here’s the story. I work for a church and was on the way to our community house (a sort of after school program for students who live in tough neighborhoods.) Driving, I saw what looked like an amp on the side of the road. I pulled over because it looked like an old school fender amp… and just sitting there (in what I like to call a “ghetto garage sale”, where you put unwanted stuff on the curb and people can pick it up) was an old used Fender Harvard amp. It has all original components, and hasn’t been touched. It fired up and then I smelled a bit of burning, so I quickly turned it off. It’s definitely dirty though…

Here’s why I’m coming to you guys…I am a complete noob to Vintage gear and am looking to getting this amp restored. I am going to take this to an expert, who knows there stuff but I still wanted to know some stuff.

Here are a few questions I had:

1. In order to retain the value for resale (If I decide to sell it), is the general consensus keep as many of the original parts as possible?
    2. Are there any specific parts that I should absolutely not repair/replace? Is anything that I should absolutely replace?
    3. It’s a bit dirty, what is the best way to clean the grill and the cabinet without damaging anything? How do I clean the metal on the control panel without damaging the writing?
    4. Is there any best practices I should look for or questions to ask while i'm looking for someone to repair it?
    5. If needed, where do I buy parts (resistors, caps, etc.) that will retain original sound and quality? Or be a good modern equivalent?
    6. As far as tubes go, do I buy NOS tubes for the amp? Are Kits worth getting? Or should I look to buy each tube separately? Am I looking for “vintage” tubes, or are modern tubes acceptable?