Rethinking Hotter Humbuckers

c_mac

Gold Supporting Member
I've bought into the conventional wisdom for the last several years that PAF style humbuckers are the only way to go outside of my usual world of single coils. If you want any extra push from them use pedals but don't go with hotter pickups because they get muddy, etc. I gotta say, I recently got a Reverend Bayonet with a Railhammer Anvil/Chisel set and it's making me rethink the idea that PAF style humbuckers are the only way to go.

I should state that when I was a teenager and playing more hard rock and metal that I used hot humbuckers all of the time. Several years ago when I started playing more country and low to medium gain rock, I made a point to move away from higher output pickups because it seemed like the right thing to do since I wasn't playing heavier gain music much anymore. After playing a gig with that Bayonet, all I can say is "wow". That guitar sounded incredible. Even the guys in my band commented about how great that guitar sounded. Again, no heavy gain or anything like, more low gain Vox-y kind of tones, but this guitar sounded massive with a crisp low end and ridiculous sustain.

Granted, maybe this has more to do with the Railhammer design than anything else but I've tried the Railhammer Hyper Vintage as well and didn't like them near as much as the Chisel set in my old Sensei or Anvil/Chisel set in my current Bayonet.

Maybe hot humbuckers aren't so bad after all!

mikef09

I'm actually thinking the same thing. I recently got a Suhr Modern with Aldrich Pickups in it. I thought about getting Thornbuckers for it, but I actually like how "full" and "hifi" the Aldrich pickups are (although I love me some Thornbuckers).

pitbull45