Retrofit a tube rectifier in place of SS?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by soniq7, Jun 24, 2008.

1. soniq7

soniq7 Member

I have a 2x6L6 fixed bias amp with full wave SS rectifier (2 diode). Im toying with the idea of fitting a 5AR4 tube. Just to see how its sounds. You understand I hope.

So my question:

Who can comment on tube rectifier conversions?

Thanks!
    Soniq

2. pula58

pula58 Silver Supporting Member

Let me preface this: I am just learning about this kind of stuff. So, take my advice with a grain of salt!

your amps transformer (the power transformer) needs to have 5V heater output capable of supplying the necessary current (as much as several amps) to the heater pin of the rectifier tube. So, if your amps power transformer has a 5V heater output you need to make sure you don't fry the power transformer by pulling too much current out of it (you will exceed its power rating). That is: make sure the power trasnformer has a 5V output with enough current driving capability!

If your amps power transformer does not have a 5V heater output, then, unless you get a new power transformer I don't think it is possible to use a tube rectifier! Maybe there is a halfway in between solution of using a weber "copper cap." I have never used one to see how it affects the sound, but I know it comes as a "tube" you can plug into a rectifier socket (but it has no heater and so your power transformer would be no problem), or, they have another one that is not a tube-like thing, but rather, a module that goes inside your amp chassis.

Or, I guess you could put a power resistor after the diodes and beofre the first filter caps and that would give you some sag-like behavior. I think that is essentially what the Weber device is: A power resistor and some other passive devices.

Anyone else?

3. doctord02

doctord02 Member