Returning to acoustic - advice on what to check out?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by Thinkin4D, Feb 25, 2012.

1. Thinkin4D

Thinkin4D Member

Hey everyone! I’m fairly new to TGP and would love some advice on acoustics I should check out!
    I’ve been focusing mostly on my electric rig for the last few years, but it looks like in the coming months I’ll be needing my acoustic more often. I’ve got a red Takamine that I bought about a decade ago – sounds alright unplugged but I’m not at all thrilled with how it sounds through the house. Plus, picking a red acoustic was a rather impulsive silly high-school move that I’m now heavily regretting.
    Anyway, so after spending so much time ignoring acoustics, I’d love some advice on what models I ought to consider as I’m shopping around. The Taylor _14’s are the ideal body size, and thus far I’ve loved the Gibson Songwriter neck and tone better than anything else I’ve played. For now, my price range would be 900-1200 so the Songwriter’s a bit out of my reach. I’ve got no problems with going used or hunting on Craigslist so hit me with what I should try out!

2. Pietro

Pietro 2-Voice Guitar Junkie and All-Around Awesome Guy

Taylors are awesome. Higher-end Seagulls are way cool, too.

3. Thinkin4D

Thinkin4D Member

Awesome, thanks! Totally forgot about Seagull, I had one of their entry level guitars before the Takamine and absolutely loved it.

4. Barnzy

Barnzy Member

Budget means alot and playing/hearing the actual guitar means everything here. Having said that, there is no better quality, mass produced guitar right now than Taylor. Just play a few models and pick the one that sounds best to you, because they all sound different from eachother. Not hard to find a winner though. Be careful with electronics though, because some like the ES (Expression system) and some don't. I don't.
    Barnzy

5. vibrasonic

vibrasonic Member