Reversed Tuners: How have I missed this?!

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by mcknigs, Jan 3, 2008.

1. mcknigs

mcknigs Supporting Member

I turn 50 in April. I started playing bass 35 years ago. I am reasonably gearhead-ish. I know a fair amount about guitars and amps.

A couple weeks ago I borrow a "Sting" model bass to do 5 songs at a benefit show and find it nearly impossible to tune. Are these tuning pegs working backwards?! The following week - another gig with the Sting. Yup indeedy, the tuning pegs work in reverse fashion. I ask the Sting's owner about it, and do a little research, and determine that Fender basses up until the late '50s had reverse tuners. I've never heard of this before. I vow I will never own a bass w/ reverse tuners - too confusing. Last night I go to check out a Tokai P-bass copy advertised in the classifieds. It turns out it's some sort of vintage reissue. The tuners are reversed. WTF?

I'm sure '50s Fender basses have a lot going for them. But I personally don't understand why anyone would prefer reversed tuners, and therefore don't understand why reissue models would go so far as to duplicate what I consider to be a design flaw.

Q1 - how did I make this far in life without hearing about this phenomenon?

Q2 - Am I missing something? Is there a practical value to making the tuners work opposite of the (deeply ingrained) way nearly everyone has learned to tune?

Q3 - How easy would it be to find replacement, normally-turning, gears for the Tokai? Does anyone know if Fender replacement stuff works in mid-80s Tokais?

-Scott

2. Bassomatic

Bassomatic Member

You get used to it pretty quickly.

My Japanese made Bacchus '62 J is the first bass I've owned with these.

3. wynsmth

wynsmth Member

My '65 Jazz Bass has them too.

4. westrock

westrock Member

Marcus Miller signature jazz bass is the same way, a little uncomfortable at first but no big deal. Can’t think of any benefits of the reverse tuning.

5. mcknigs