Review of Ebony-Topped Semi-Hollowbody Maguire Guitar

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by apalazzolo, Jul 4, 2015.

1. apalazzolo

apalazzolo Supporting Member

This is a review of the ebony-topped Maguire guitar being built with five other guitars in the "Trip to Maguire Guitars" thread found here: http://www.thegearpage.net/board/index.php?threads/trip-to-maguire-guitars.847398/ There is a lot of information over there, so I’ll focus on aspects not apparent there. Pics can be found here: http://www.thegearpage.net/board/index.php?media/albums/guitars-in-progress.166/&page=9

Custom build vs. off the rack. I’ve been playing for many years and am fortunate enough to have some sweet guit-fiddles for reference. This is the first electric guitar built for me from scratch and that alone sets it apart from almost all of my other guitars (almost all of which had some feature or other that wasn’t quite right for me). It’s almost as though having/playing off-the-shelf guitars was a necessary step and those guitars (as well as TGP) finally taught me enough that I was ready to graduate to a no-compromises custom build. I wish I had done this years ago.

While this guitar has its own thing going on, it may be helpful to say that it is similar in size, shape, fit/finish, and features to a private stock Paul Reed Smith, particularly the hollowbody PRS model.