Review of GVCG Ultimate '55 Tele

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by CNP, Aug 31, 2005.

1. CNP

CNP Member

I’m new to this great forum, and I’m the lucky new owner of a Greenwich Village Custom Guitars (GVCG) Ultimate ’55 Telecaster relic. This is such an exceptional instrument, such a wonderful piece, that I feel compelled to write this review. First, a little background—I’ve been playing guitar for about 30 years, lately as a “serious” hobbyist only due to family, job, etc. During this time I’ve owned and played a ton of guitars—vintage, Custom Shop, boutique, ordinary, you name it. I’m really not a gear snob—if it plays and sounds good, it works for me. In fact, after years of collecting, I think my stock Mexican Jimmie Vaughan Strat is the best playing (but not sounding) Strat I’ve owned. True, this JV’s exceptional—I’ve played and owned several that don’t compare—but even a basic, stock guitar can have the goods... Now, to the GVCG Ultimate ’55. It is absolute magic. Jonathan Wilson, who builds each GVCG by hand, has a unique gift. (He also seems like a helluva nice guy.) Somehow, I don’t know how, he has done the impossible. He’s managed to create a guitar that absolutely looks, feels and even smells like a 50 year old, well-used Telecaster. Pick it up (it weighs only 6.5 pounds), and you just “feel” that the wood and nitro has air dried for many, many years. I don’t know if Jonathan actually uses old wood, but it certainly feels like it. The relic’ing is just unbelievable. I’ve owned and played Fender Custom Shop relics, as well as “boutique” relics, and they just don’t compare to the GVCG in these respects. I’ve also been lucky enough to own a real ’57 Esquire, and this GVCG Tele could be mistaken for such a vintage instrument, except... The GVCG plays better. Much better. I find myself sitting in my office at work, or driving in my car, just thinking about how it feels in my hands. This may seem odd, but I’m sure some of you understand!