1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

RIP: Speedy West Jr. - OKC Guitar Legend

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by buddaman71, May 18, 2011.

1. buddaman71

buddaman71 Student of Life Silver Supporting Member

Gary "Speedy" West Jr. lost his battle with cancer on May 4, 2011. I've known him and played live and in the studio with him many times over the last 20 years. He was an amazingly gifted, yet affable, kind, funny and humble person. Speedy Jr. played lap steel and guitar equally, and was just an encyclopedia of American guitar styles and sounds. He was also the son of the great lap steel icon, Speedy West.

Here's my Speedy Jr. story relating my friendship and admiration for him:

I met Speedy in 1990 at Granny's Music Mall. I'm just a self-taught country boy, and I finally wanted to take lessons to try and get better. I asked if I could take a few and Speedy said, "Come on back!" I walked to his little room , plugged in, Speedy hit play on a little backing track and I jammed along a bit. He hit stop and said, "I'm not taking your money man, let's just jam a bit." Over the years, every time I stopped by he'd smile and say, "Hey, Jason! Let's jam a bit."

The first studio session I ever played on was with OKC music legends: Speedy Jr., Bill Hood, Byron Berline, John Hickman, Richard Sharpe and the Short brothers. I was intimidated to say the least. Speedy was the only one who knew me and said, "This kid can play! This will be great." He was never anything but positive and encouraging to me every time I ever played music with him.