Road Case or soft Case for amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by severinsteel, Dec 18, 2009.

1. severinsteel

severinsteel Supporting Member

Hey guys, so I am not a touring musician, but I have hard cases for my pedalboard and guitar, so I was on the fence about getting a road case or a nice soft case for my baby, my Egnater Mod 50. I found this cool company called Studio Slips and they make some really nice looking soft cases. I don't gig regularly, so I am wondering if getting a road case would be overkill. I guess if I do end up touring I could always buy a road case. Maybe I just answered my own question! Anyway, I am curious to what you guys think.

2. mark norwine

mark norwine Member

my vote was, is & will always be "anvil case"

3. billyguitar

billyguitar Member

If you just play local gigs and haul your own amp I would go with a soft case. Back when I was young and dumb I had a Boogie Mark 3 hardwood combo with a Calzone case. After hundreds of gigs the amp still looked like new but the case made it a lot harder to load/unload out of my car trunk. Of course that amp was stupid heavy which didn't help. The advantage of the hard case was I always had something to put the amp up on.
    Since then I always use soft cases. I have a set of Studio slips for a Z amp and cab and they are great. I only use the kind of soft cases that are padded and have some kind of bottom protection.

4. buddaman71

buddaman71 Student of Life Silver Supporting Member

The thick Tuki-style padded Cordura covers are very protective for everyday use and gigging. I love mine.

Anvil-style cases are awesome for touring, but damn, they are heavy and overkill for my gigging needs...

5. dazed1

dazed1 Member