Road Worn 50's Tele Review

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Guitar Dave T, Feb 26, 2009.

1. Guitar Dave T

Guitar Dave T Member

Living In The Palace Of The King, Big D of DFW
    I spent a good bit of time recently playing a new blonde, ash-bodied "Road Worn 50's Tele" through a Deluxe Reverb at Guitar Center.

Let me start this review with two qualifiers:
    1. I do not "get" relics. Nothing personal against those who play 'em, but I'm old enough and play out often enough to wear out my own guitars, and don't see a lot of value in accelerating that process.
    2. So you know I have some background for this review, The last Tele I owned was an awesome guitar, a Fender Japan, ash-bodied, feather-lite, 50's Tele with a custom wound set of flat-pole-bridge, Broadcaster pickups which were hand made by the late WL "Van" Van Zandt (we miss you, Van). I sold the guitar in a moment of weakness; What, like you've never done something completely stupid before?
    So the first of two similar Teles I picked up had a terrible setup, with a severely bowed neck and visually uneven frets, so I put it back on the rack. Note to Fender guys: I understand that there is some readjustment necessary after the initial factory setup, and sometimes shipping a guitar to different climates and altitudes can affect setup, but how much trouble would it be to at least attempt to get a good straight neck starting point at the factory?

Then I picked up the other one. First impression, good setup, easy to play, action low but not too low, but what really impressed me was the acoustic sound of the guitar. Very rich and resonant wood tone unplugged. Hmmm... This is promising.

So I plugged it into a reissue Deluxe Reverb, not my favorite of the reissues, but a known entity. Turned the amp up loud enough to get a little punch, set treble and bass in the middle and turned off the reverb, which always seems to get in the way of an accurate assesment of tone for both guitars and amps.