Rock n Roll Relics Review Added Photos

drmatty

This is a quick introduction to Rock N Roll Relics, a small guitar building company started by a San Francisco musician Billy Rowe. Hopefully this is review 1 of 3. :aok

First, I have been lucky to call music my living for about 10 years, but have decided to move onto other joys for my living as of 8 years ago. However, I am still a musician, play in two local bands, write my own music and perform a few times per month. I have no current sponsorships to report. Previously I have been sponsored to play Gibson guitars and Fender amps at specific shows.

Like many of the TGP readers/posters, I am interested in small size guitar building outfits (Nash, Danocaster, etc). When I learned that Rock N Roll Relics was in SF, I had to send them an email and learn more.

Billy (owner, builder, etc) was quick to answer my email and offered to let me stop by his shop to say hi and check out some of his work. My first impression was his shop is immaculate. Clean and profession. He and his one employee, Dave, were open and honest. They were happy to answer my lame questions (for example: do you relic each piece by hand one at a time? The answer was yes.).

Their work is beautiful. They had an assortment of guitars for me to look at from the beautiful burst LP type guitars (each patterned from the book Beauty of the Burst), LP Jr's in cool TV yellow and a few custom colors, SG's, Tele and Strat type guitars, as well as bass guitars! I hadn't really seen a relic bass guitar. Let me tell you the burgundy mist relic J-bass with matching headstock was sweet. Each guitar is offered with as much or as little of the relic finishing as requested by the future owner. I found it interesting that they bring each instrument to a full finish shine (with Nitro of course) prior to starting the relic process. This seemed to allow for a more natural looking aging process.