RS guitarworks kit for an es-335 type – witch one? And some more…

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by GeorgeSunset, Dec 2, 2009.

1. GeorgeSunset

GeorgeSunset Member

Hello…
    Time to replace my electronics. I have heard a lot of good things about RS guitarworks electronics, and thought to by a kit. It’s a AS-83 (Ibanez).

I think I will need short-shaft pots (sure I have to) but I’m also looking to replace the 3-way switch – but witch one would fit? (my thought is the one for the SG – right angle one)

But how good are these switches? I mean in terms of radiointerference?

Or would you say – forget about the switch – use the one you have?

One other thing – I’m going to install a MASTER volume in the circuit (I have my reasons :crazy a master for both pick-ups) and would like to hear what value the pot should have. Know, I would like to have as little as possible frequency loss…
    Heard that 1M pot should do the job.

I appreciate every opinion. Thank you

2. Eagle1

Eagle1 Member

Just get CTS 500KA pots from allparts and two nice caps (I like vitamin Q) sprague or better and a Switchcraft angle three way .This is as good as ANY RS kit and a lot cheaper .RS pots are just CTS anyway.

3. in a little row

in a little row Member

just to clarify, youll need mini-pots for that guitar...regular size pots will be a nightmare to install

4. Eagle1

Eagle1 Member

" No," full size, make a cardboard copy of where the holes are to hold everything in place while you wire it up and then tread it carefully through the F hole .

5. Bob V

Bob V Member

Looks like a big f-hole so regular pots shouldn't be a problem - look with a dental mirror (or a mechanic's inspection mirror) to see what's in there now and you might not need miniature pots. Also see if there's access through the bridge pickup cavity and you might be able to get everything in and out without scratching the binding on the f-hole.