Rumble in the Basement

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by CptSensible, Nov 12, 2017.

1. CptSensible

CptSensible Member

So, I'm a guitarist, but I was looking to get a cheapish bass rig to play with my son in the basement. He's 13 and plays the drums. We try to bash out some surf tunes, but not super loud.

Was thinking of getting a Fender Rumble bass amp. My question is will a 40 watt amp work for my needs? Again, not gigging out, but jamming in the basement with a young teenage drummer. Or do I need to kick it up to the 100 watt amp just to accomplish that much without having to dime the volume and rattle the cabinet?

Thanks!

2. joshinthecity

joshinthecity Member

I'd get the 100.
    BTW: I have one, and for the money (and weight) it's an excellent bass combo.
    You won't be disappointed..
    j.

GGinMP likes this.
  3. Teh RedWizard

Teh RedWizard Supporting Member

To really be heard with drums,I'd get the 200!! :boxer Lightweight, has a defeatable horn that can help dial out any 'muddiness' that can come with a 15er....and can be had for a steal on the used market.//

4. CptSensible

CptSensible Member

200 watts for the basement? We're not talking about playing Budokan here.

I was really hoping that I could manage with 40 watts for that, um, venue.

5. Gimmodog

Gimmodog Member

I would go to the nearest dealer and buy whatever used they have and ask if you could bring it back if not loud enough I would think any would be loud enough for a basement even with a hard drummer, just put the amp next to the drums

Last edited: Nov 13, 2017
  6. Michael Hunter

Michael Hunter Supporting Member

Well, keep in mind that it won't be like having a 200 watt Hiwatt in your basement. With solid state or class D bass amps, 150-200 watts is about the minimum you need to get bass up to the level of acoustic drums without crapping out.

Bob Pollock and Teh RedWizard like this.
  7. cram

cram Member