Running a JCM800/2203 on one tube question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by el34power, Aug 18, 2005.

1. el34power

el34power Member

Hey all! I've been running my 2203 on 2 tubes for about a year now. The head is set to 4ohm into an 8 ohm cab works fine.
    I am concidering running on 1 tube. Any danger tranny wise?
    would i have to set the head to 2 ohm (wich i cannot) or make the cab 16 ohm? ( wich i can't). i could wire it up to 32ohms and run the head at 8 ohm right?

Thanks

2. Jerrod

Jerrod Silver Supporting Member

I'm not an expert, but I would bet $100 that you can't run the amp with only one tube.

3. AL30

AL30 Member

You can't do that. Either 4 tubes or 2 tubes.

AL

4. Steve Dallas

Steve Dallas Supporting Member

You will unbalance the OT and destroy it if you run just one tube. One thing you could do is ground the grid of one tube. That would effectively make the amp run in SE class A mode. It can sound pretty sweet. I put a switch on one of my amps to allow me to do that at will (you just don't want to flip the switch with the amp on--it's the mother of all pops!).

5. guitarded_1

guitarded_1 Member

Although it's probably bad for the amp, VHolic did quite a few one tube Marshall clips.

6. el34power

el34power Member

I know. That's why i was asking.. Maybe he will chime in...
    I did try it for about 5 minutes a while back. It does work but. Being an ex smoker, i want to know the long term effects:rolleyes:

7. AL30

AL30 Member

Well, this is typical...

A quick search at the Plexi Palace and here's what came up.

Posted by Cerrem

"OK...so you want to run the 100 watter on one tube but you want to do it safely....
    No problemo...