Safely shipping a guitar overseas

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Phoenixfire, Apr 18, 2015.

1. Phoenixfire

Phoenixfire Member

I'm thinking of 'investing' in a nice guitar, and since I'm picky when it comes to instruments, I'm importing a specific one from the US to Australia, where i live.

I've never done it before, and so I was wondering whether anyone here has had any experience they could share? It's not a cheap guitar, so I want to make sure its safe.

Specifically, I'd love to know:
    ---What forwarding company do you suggest?
    I'm familiar with shipito, but not much else.
    ---Am i going to ave issues with the size?
    specifically if its in the case?
    ---Would the fender ABS strat/tele case be enough to protect it in transit?
    or am i better off getting it packed without a case, with sufficient padding?
    ---Is there any way to avoid the 10% customs fee when importing it?
    is there certain paperwork i need to complete?

Any and all advice is welcome!

and for those interested, the guitar in question:
    [​IMG]

2. Phoenixfire

Phoenixfire Member

No one? No advice at all?

3. Stonebandit

Stonebandit Member

About to bring a ES-335 across with Shipito from Hawthorn, CA with TNT Express.
    Guitar is in Case and in Gibson Box. I'll probably get it double boxed. And resealed.

Used Shipito with TNT plenty of times, (first guitar thou). Great speedy service, but this will get slowed down in customs, just the way it is.

Duty tax is high, I've got an over $1000 bill to pay. That's the law and I am not going to get caught. Plus I have full Insurance for damage or Lost in transit.

Shipito organise the paperwork for items over $2500 for US$40 flat free.

I am not playing games with Customs.

You can supply original purchase documentation electronically or if it is in the package already.

That's what I'm doing. And I feel safe.

Shipping to TAS.

4. Phoenixfire

Phoenixfire Member

Thanks Stonebandit!