Samick Interceptor 4 - any good?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by koda95, Feb 28, 2012.

1. koda95

koda95 Member

Hello everyone,

I am about to buy a guitar - and have been searching around many places. I would need a guitar to suit different styles ... from pop, country, rock and 80's heavy rock. I'm not looking for an expensive one...

I came over a guitar in this sales-ad: http://www.finn.no/finn/torget/tils...ference=2012/1/10/8/326/376/78_-973157306.jpg

Does anyone know anything about this kind of guitar... a Greg Bennett Design from Samick, called Interceptor IC-4??

2. koda95

koda95 Member

As far as I know ... Samick produces guitars for Fender and Gibson also; at least they used to do so...

But I have never tried any of Samick's guitars before - and therefore I'm very uncertain about their quality. The info about the guitar said it's equipped with Duncan designed humbuckers, 5-way switch and Floyd Rose tremolo.

3. Jef Bardsley

Jef Bardsley Member

Samick makes very good low-end guitars. In the mid-range, there are other choices, and the G&L Tributes, PRS SE series, ESP/LTDs and Peavey HPs (among others) seem more popular. My major complaint with Samicks is the nut is too high so you should have a luthier recut the slots. Perhaps a hold-over from 30 years ago when they didn't trust their own fretwork, but these days there's nothing wrong with Samick necks (I play one almost every day).