1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

SANTOS custom built BOAT PADDLES ( guitars)

Discussion in 'Reviews of Electric Guitars' started by Humphrey Audio, Mar 13, 2017.

1. Humphrey Audio

Humphrey Audio Member

The idea of having a guitar custom-made, is so that it will have the features you want.

I'm a professional guitar tech, and I've done customizing work galore, set-ups, etc., for 35 years. I know my way around the stuff.
    I had reconstructive wrist surgery, and my sanding days are over!
    I wanted to order parts and put together a nice guitar for myself, to my specs, to accommodate the new wrist. I was looking at A custom built WARMOUTH neck and then choosing a nice body from a vendor.

I found SANTO on the Internet, and messaged the owner about a body, but they offered me everything I would have ordered, with extra made-to-order features for $1300. A complete guitar to my specs.
    This seemed to be a pretty good deal at the time.

From the start These guys send an updated build-sheet every week, for you to review, make changes if there are any, and send back. Unfortunately they don't read it!
    They completely ignored some of the most basic features that I wanted.
    In short, they're going to do it THEIR way, and talk you into taking it.

Firstly, the build was almost 60 days late!! It certainly wasn't because they were taking their time in building it carefully or correctly either.

NECK: They don't build necks. They order them from venders. For my needs, they had to go to Warmouth. Once again, they ignored the build sheet with my specs, and cut costs by ordering the neck THEY decided on.
    The guitar was already 30 days late when they sent me a picture of the neck, so I settled for it, not knowing that that was just the beginning of the debacle.