Scuffham S-Gear total novice where do I start?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by MontyW, Feb 18, 2012.

1. MontyW

MontyW Member

Okay after seeing and hearing a number of demos of S-Gear and following a few threads on TGP, I've decided I want to give S-Gear a go. However, although I have played guitar for a long time - this will be my first venture into a pure 'software' solution.

Can someone tell me what I need to get started with playback and recording. Recording is something I'll look into later. I have the following kit:

* iMac (Intel Core 2 Duo) running 10.7.3
    * MacBook Pro (Core i7) also 10.7.3
    * Genelec 8020B monitors

I use my iMac for listening to music and use a Benchmark USB DAC.

I know I need an audio interface and I can get my hands either a RME BabyFace, Echo AudioFire 4 or Apogee Duet quite easily. Is an interface and the S-Gear standalone software all that I need?

Oh I've also got a Sunday Driver that I know Acyslounge from YouTube uses, but I don't have a clue how this is used with an interface, so any advice on how to use the Sunday Driver would be good.

Any advice on how to get up and running would be great.

Thanks.

2. CyberFerret

CyberFerret Member

You are on the right track... Pretty much a good audio interface, and the S-Gear software is all you need.

I've got a MacBook, and the Duet interface (version1 - firewire). I don't think I even had to do anything to S-Gear to configure it for the Duet... Just installed the software, plugged in my guitar and Jammed away merrily.

Don't even bother tweaking S-Gear at first either - just select different presets and enjoy the sounds.

If you wanted to use the Sunday Driver, or ANY pedals, just put it in the chain as per usual:

Guitar -> Pedal(s) -> Audio Interface -> S-Gear