• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

SE 6L6 Instrument Amp Build / Introduction

daytonampnerd

Hi guys! First post. I've been building and working on tube amps for a few years now and wanted to document and share a build that I'll be beginning tomorrow. I'll be using some parts recycled from a Webcor Reel to Reel and some other spare bits and pieces that I have hanging around to build a general purpose amplifier. It's mostly for guitar but will second as a bass practice amp that won't wake the kids.

The amplifier itself is a simple design. It sports a 6SJ7 pentode gain stage similar to that in a DC30 mated to Spitefire Volume + Tone controls with a bypassable bright cap. The power amplifier is pretty much lifted right out of a Fender champ with intention to swap 6V6 and 6L6. The power supply is intended to be pretty stiff. I don't like too much squish until it's balls-out.

Schematic:

Bits and pieces:

The aluminum box I plan to use will arrive tomorrow. Things might be tight, it's dimensions are only 8" L x 6" W x 3-1/2" H. The small size could make for a pretty cool suitcase amp if I choose to go that route with it.

Here's a few examples of my work to substitute as eye candy until parts arrive.

"The Scrapper": A Matchless Spirtfire circuit built out of a Hammond AO44 Reverb Amp. I took advantage of the 6GW8's high mu triode sections and added a 12AX7 to keep the footprint small. It is literally a lunchbox sized amp. Controls are Volume, Tone, and Master.

The "B-30" is a take on the venerable B-15 bass amp using a recycled organ chassis and PT. It's a single '68 B-15 preamp married to a doubled up '64 cathode biased power section. Controls are Volume, Bass, and Treble with Ultra Hi and Ultra Lo switches.