Seeking advice from the over 50 crowd.

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by vetplus40, Mar 1, 2020.

1. vetplus40

vetplus40 Member

I have been "noodling" around for five years and seem to be in a rut. I started playing again after failing miserably as a teenager ( lack of focus) because I discovered the Blues and love the slow blues licks of BB King and others. I figured working towards that goal would be feasible given my age and joint issues from years of working with my hands. I travel a lot so using a formal teacher would be difficult. I have also explored the on-line options, but there are so many teachers that its simply mind boggling.
    At this point, I am just in limbo and not sure what to do. As such, any guidance or suggestions would be appreciated. I dont want to quit, but playing is becoming more of a disappointing chore than a source of enjoyment.

Vaifan, mudster, sahhas and 2 others like this.
  2. Buck Private

Buck Private Member

I suggest a little less noodling and a lot more listening...To the blues. Not the endless repetitive, "Chicago"ish interpretations of a million bar bands, but the actual blues from the real deal players. It won't make tired old fingers any faster but it will give you some fresh insights into what the music is all about.

3. amstrtatnut

amstrtatnut Member

I dont think an instuctor should be out of the question. There is no reason you couldnt do once a month lessons or fewer if need be.

I think a good instructor is priceless.

4. ieso

ieso Member

Learn some songs
    Write some songs
    Mel Bay Complete Method for Modern Guitar
    Learn some new techniques
    Buy a distortion pedal :D

BenoA, xarkon and Tone_Terrific like this.
  5. Tony Done

Tony Done Member

I'm a folkie and blues player, and I agree with @Buck Private, look a lot wider than Chicago. For example, if you're an electric flatpicker, something like Roy Buchanan's "CC Rider", and maybe some slide, like Elmore James and Duane Allman.