Sennheiser MD421 vs. Shure SM57...

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by tradarama, Nov 7, 2004.

1. tradarama

tradarama www.PRIMEGUITARS.com Silver Supporting Member

What are your thoughts guys? For guitar cab mic....distortion/higher gain. Thanks! Jim

2. Scott Peterson

Scott Peterson Staff Member

I have used 57's since I started playing out and recording.

I have used 421's in the studio when the engineer wanted to.

The 421 has more bass and less of a mid-hump; but it has a very definate mid-hump.

The 57 sounds grainy and small sometimes when you solo it out; but in 99.98% of the tracks I do it always fits *very* well. Better in context than alone for sure.

IMHO, I have three 57's that I own and use; they work well enough that I have never considered buying a 421.

Just my opinion.

3. Chiba

Chiba Gold Supporting Member

If you want your guitar tracks to sound like what everybody else expects your guitar tracks to sound like, use an SM57 ... like everybody else.

Me, I don't like 'em. Personal thing, I guess, with my weird ears. I don't think I've used a 421 on anything but drums in my limited recording experience. They're really good for toms!

This is certainly no slag on anybody that uses 57s. For instance, I've got Scott's last album and the guitar tones on it are great! Probably every hit song we've heard on the radio or MTV for the last 20 years has guitars tracked with a 57. I'm just saying I choose not to use them if at all possible.

(Sorry if I sound CYA...I'm still in recovery from the BaM atmosphere.)

--chiba

4. LSchefman

LSchefman Supporting Member

They're both great, it depends how you want to shape the sound of your tracks on any given day.

Another really good choice is the new Audix I-5.

5. GaryNattrass

GaryNattrass Member

I find the whole Senny 421 thing SO funny, it was designed to be an in-vision news reporters mic way back in the 70's or 60's.