Separate tone controls NOT possible on Strat?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by scotchtape800, Feb 2, 2012.

1. scotchtape800

scotchtape800 Member

Ok, so I've been doing tons of reading on this for the past few days.
    I am a total noob at this, so help is appreciated!

I'm planning on rewiring my strat (lonestar edition, HSS).

From what I understand, THERE IS NO WAY TO HAVE SEPARATE TONE CONTROLS for pickups. If there are two tone pots engaged, they will essentially both be loading the entire circuit and not just an individual pickup, therefore you are not getting separate tone controls, but two tone controls.

This seems to be the case for the regular 5 way AND the super switch.

Is this correct?

I'm confused because some people state that it IS possible, but others say it is not. From looking at the diagrams, unless you run your pickups in series, there is absolutely no way to do this, since the pickups are always running in parallel and share a common + and - eventually. This is from every diagram I've seen, whenever there are two tone pots engaged you can trace the + or - to a common point (volume), even on the super switches.

Although it "seems" like on a super switch you can isolate the tone controls based on the diagram, if you think it through, it's not possible - right?

Again, I am a total noob so if someone can explain this, it would help a lot.

I wanted to run the HB off of a 500K volume, but then hook up a 250K resistor to the SC tone pots so it would see 250K. From the above, it just won't work in position 2 (HB + SC), since in position 2 there would be two tones engaged. If so, I guess what I CAN do is use a super switch so that on position 2, the middle pickup has no tone control...

2. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member