Seriously ... would I be a noob to buy a signature guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by guitarrhinoceros, Feb 16, 2012.

1. guitarrhinoceros

guitarrhinoceros Senior Member

I know, I know. First off, I'm a teacher. I am highly against people bullying others. Second, I am all about originality, and that is often my goal in everything I do in life. It is my mantra that I realize is wholly impossible. Anyways, I really, really, really want to purchase this bad ass signature guitar. I've had my eyes on it for awhile. But, really though -- there is something sort of lame about sporting another man's signature guitar, right? I am torn. I don't mind getting made fun of, but I also don't want my band to receive negative attention.

What do you think?

2. mitchanator

mitchanator Member

Well i would love to get a fender strat john mayer for myself so i would say go for it. What signature guitar do you want to get

3. vanguard

vanguard Member

depends who you are as a player. if i saw thurston moore sporting someone else's sig model, it'd be cool because he is totally his own man and not trying to "be" anyone else.

when i see hoards of SRV or mayer wannabes sporting their respective models and doing bad impersonations of them at bars, it's really, really sad.

4. jaxn slim

jaxn slim Member

If it's got the specs you're after, I don't see any harm in it. Which sig is it?

I just ordered my first sig guitar yesterday from the manufacturer, a Reverend Eastsider S Pete Anderson Sig #3. I'm really stoked. I even met Pete Anderson at NAMM, but I couldn't tell you a single song he played on. :p

5. vivaoaxaca

vivaoaxaca Member

I play a Les Paul signature guitar. Funny tho, I don't play anything like Les Paul.

6. jaxn slim

jaxn slim Member

Yeah. But that's more about about them trying to cop the licks and stage presence, right? The fact that it's a sig guitar is kind of after the fact, wouldn't you say?

7. Miles

Miles Member