Set neck project - Different final steps for different finishes ?

donnyb

Hello again , Happy Christmas !

Id seek advice on best order for the final stages of a Les Paul Junior style build. I have never done a set neck project before, but plenty of bolt- ons. And undecided about which finishes for the neck and body.

Once I do decide on the finishes, I don't want to do a step that might seem logical, but find out later that it would have been better to do that step in a different order, for reasons I cant think of right now ! :confused:

This is basically where I'm at :

NECK : Raw wood. Honduran Mahogany, Tasmanian Blackwood fretboard and headstock veneer. Close to completion - ready for frets installation.

BODY : Raw wood. Tasmanian Blackwood routed to shape, no cavity routs or neck pocket rout.

I'm thinking this order :

1. Finish the fretboard only with hard burnishing oil (my preference) and install the frets, taking precautions to keep oil out of the slots. Set neck aside.

2. Do all the body routs, including the neck pocket

QUESTIONS here :

• If I use oil on the neck and headstock veneer, but choose to use clear coats on the body , should I do the oil process now (before gluing the neck in), taking care not to get any oil on the gluing surfaces of the heel, but running the oil finish just a tad inside the pocket rout line ?

• If I choose to use a clear coat finish (eg. lacquer or shellac) on everything i.e. the neck and headstock veneer and the body .....do that after the neck is glued to the body, with the oil finished fretboard masked off ?

• If I do an oil finish to the body, but have clear coated the back of the neck, feather the clear coats where these meet the body if necessary, and oil the body ?

• If I do all surfaces with either oil or a clear coat finish (i.e to the body, neck and headstock) just apply it to all those surfaces after gluing in the neck and masking off the previously oiled fretboard (if I use clear elsewhere) ?