• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!
  • If you are seeing this, you are on the new TGP servers. Bear with us as we work out any issues related to the move. The end result should be a far better snappier experience on TGP. *Notice: You can close this notice by clicking on the "X" in the upper right corner.

Setup slide guitar

chrisjnyc

Silver Supporting Member
Its been a while since I have played slide with my band, but I am trying to get back into it. Anyone have some tips on setting up a slide guitar? I have spare LP and strat... going to raise up the action.

Bonus question.... whats your favorite slide? I have better luck with glass, but also have a brass slide.

Benz2112

Silver Supporting Member
Raising action is fine if you want to have a heavier touch, but ill play slide on anything. I really like the Rockslide. I started playing slide with my index finger, eventually broke that habit and played with my ring, but now I use a Rockslide pinky, which fits really nice, and opens up a lot more possibilities. I like the brass, but I also still have a Dunlop blues bottle glass slide, which sounds really good.

Bob T.

Rockslide brass balltip on pinky. Marvelous.

I recently acquired an Epiphone Dot Deluxe that is meant primarily as a slide guitar in standard tuning with 12's; I'd be able to play it with or without the slide. While it works well, I honestly think my touch is light enough (and since I like the action a little higher than most anyway) that I can play 11's with a slide easily.

I find slide to be one of the most expressive ways to play guitar. It's been a tough ride for me to learn, but SO worth it!