Seymour Duncan Antiquity II Surfer Set, the Discussion.

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Jeff Flowerday, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Jeff Flowerday

Jeff Flowerday Member

I've ordered a set with custom bridge just wanted to get everyone's opinion on them, what they like don't like about them etc....

2. Jim Barth

Jim Barth Member

I like them because to my ear they are more that 60's big and round sound as opposed to the 50's trebly and glassy tone.

3. CharlieNC

CharlieNC Member

i have been playing them for about 6 months now.

personally, I think that they have more chime than the regular Antiquities with less focus on the midrange, and a tighter bass and treble output. i have the custom bridge as well and honestly, it is far hotter than any real grey bottom pickup you will find, but still retains the glassiness of a vintage pup and to my ears balances nicely with the neck and middle pup without having to be raised nearly up to the strings like on a lot of older strats.

so it's output is hotter, but i think it is intended more for functionality than to have an amazingly scorching lead pickup. i hope that makes sense? of course if you raise it high enough, you will indeed have a screaming bridge pickup. how mine are set though, I can play lead lines on just the bridge without it being overkill at all.

what can i say... the Alnico 5 magnets are beautiful. i think that their sound is the peak of the strat sound. many will disagree with me, Eric Clapton for one... he like the 50's strats, but my favorite guitars are the non-slabboard models from 64/65. that's just what I like. if you also like that sound, then you are in for a real treat.

4. jetlag

jetlag Member