Shimmer reverb advice

Robbi Rose

Hey guys

I'm looking at getting a shimmer reverb but I'm new to them so I was wondering how many there are.

I'm leaning toward the Hardwire Supernatural.

Just wondered what you thought of them as well.

cheers Robbi

Yarnhawk

I've got a Mr Black Eterna, and absolutely love it. From subtle, natural upper harmonic sounds to full on shimmery goodness, it sounds fantastic. Rad company too.

the tourist

My favorit is the Stereo wet version.
Does the stereo wet do actual octave shimmer...?

I have a Supernatural, i honestly think the Verbzilla is the way to go.
Verbzilla was okay when it wasn't in my main signal path. At the time I was running two amps with the Verbzilla and a Volume Pedal going into amp B and only used that amp for shimmer so I didn't have to worry about the bypass tone. When I ran it into my main amp when I stopped playing in stereo, it colored my tone more than I wanted.

I've got a Mr Black Eterna, and absolutely love it. From subtle, natural upper harmonic sounds to full on shimmery goodness, it sounds fantastic. Rad company too.
I would have liked the Eterna if there was a tone control. Holy cow, the high end was like an ice cream headache.

Jules-RM

I have never used the Verbzilla. Does it have Shimmer?

What would you say was wrong with the Supernatural?

Cheers
The Verbzilla has an octave up shimmer, the Supernatural only has a 5th up... I think.

The M5 is another good option. Personally, I preferred the PitchFactor for shimmer, but that's a lot of scratch for just Shimmer.

lhama

Yes, you can load it up via the editor. If you got a mono rig, then you can have two algos loaded on the stereo wet, and change them by plugin in a dummy jack in the secound output.

Catch

Analog>Digital Converter
Gold Supporting Member
I prefer the shimmer in the Strymon blueSky (BSR). BigSky is an option but may be overkill for your needs.