Should I get a Gibson Custom Shop?

What’s your choice?

• Gibson Custom Shop Les Paul R0

Votes: 76 60.8%
  • Fender Custom Shop Tele + Gibson USA Les Paul

Votes: 49 39.2%

• Total voters

Syntek

I’ve been saving for a pre-owned Gibson Custom Shop Les Paul R0. But, now that I am ready for that commitment, I did realize that for the same price I can get a Fender CS tele and a Gibson USA LP.

Currently, I do have a Strat and a Duesenberg StarPlayer TV.

What would you get? Are Gibson’s Custom Shop worth the hype?

Last edited:

TheRedBoy

I think they’re worth the hype. I worked in a shop from 2009-2016, and I played a ton of them. I found they changed the specs up in 2013, and every one I’ve played that was made after that has been amazing. I’ve got a 2014 R8, that I absolutely love.

slide13

Silver Supporting Member
It feels like the CS LP is the guitar you really want, if that’s the case I say go for it.

I’m more a Fender guy myself and just got a CS Strat. I could have gotten a couple nice guitars for that price but I love Strats and this one is exactly the one I’ve been looking for. I don’t regret it one bit! So if the CS LP is what you really want I think it’s the right move even if, on paper, it may not always make the most sense.

eigentone

Gold Supporting Member
Buy what you really want. If the R0 is your dream guitar, go find one you love.

Are Gibson Custom Shop guitars worth the price? I think so, if you can comfortably afford it. My #1 is a Les Paul from Gibson Custom. I own a few Gibson Custom guitars; Gibson USA guitars are just not very tempting anymore. That's not to say Gibson Custom guitars are all better than all Gibson USA guitars but… chances are the Custom will be a cut above.