Should I sell my Blackstar Artisan 15?

magneticfield

I have received a very good offer (1000$) for my Blackstar Artisan 15. It's my only amp (actually my very first amp, I bought it when I started playing guitar in 2010). I like the sound but I never use amp overdrive (only clean + dirt boxes) which is the flagship of the artisan. Maybe I should be looking for other options.

Should I sell it? What do you think of the artisan 15?

indyrunner03

Seems like the question should be an internal one: Are you happy with the amp? If the answer is "yes" then there's really no need to sell it; especially if you like the cleans you get from it. However, if the answer is "no" then you might want to consider looking at other amp options.

If you're happy with your tone with the Artisan 15 then stay put because you could go on an expensive amp journey just to end back with another Artisan 15 if it provides you the clean tone you want.

magneticfield

Yes, it's a wise suggestion. The problem is this is the only amp I have ever owned and I don't know if I would like others more (eg. fender, vox, selmer). I can't even choose properly at the local store because they want you to try the amps at unreasonable low volume (which means I can barely hear the difference between them).

kyoungsteadt

You will be fine with any tube amp set clean in the 15 - 30 watt range. Most of your tone is coming from your pedals. Changing your pedals will make a bigger difference if you want a different sound. Also speaker choice will make a difference in your sound as well.

You might consider that you could probably find a clean pedal platform style tube amp that sounds just as good for much less than 1k.

beatnik

The things about the artisan 15 are that it is hand wired and has the EF86 tube. The hand wired bit means it will be reasonably easy to repair should something take a header. And I am not certain you could get into another EF86 amp for under a grand (ymmv).