Should I trade my SuperSonic for a DRRI?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by shakerAU, Aug 5, 2008.

1. shakerAU

shakerAU Member

I've been using a Super-Sonic for about 3 months now, but it doesn't start to sound good until the volume is up around 3, nearly every gig I'm being asked to turn down! tried playing at lower volume but it sounds like crap, thin and fizzy.
    So I'm thinking of trading it for a DRRI.

Does this sound like a sensible idea?

Oh yeah, I play 50's style rock & roll/rockabilly with a Gretsch 6120.

2. sqadan

sqadan Member

Yeah... I'd go for the DRRI... or for Rockabilly - what about a Bassman LTD?

Only thing I'll say though - even the Deluxe is going to sound thin on 3... almost any amp will unless it's like 5 watts. If you like the sound of your Super-Sonic cranked - why not try an attenuator?

3. GregoryL

GregoryL Supporting Member

+1 for the attenuator suggestion.

4. shakerAU

shakerAU Member

Thanks sqadan

Tried an attenuator, tried yellow jackets as well, didn't really care for the tone.

5. wilerty

wilerty Member

Try a Rivera Clubster 25 Doce. Similar in specs and price to the DRRI. Now that I see where you are from ... that may be difficult.

6. sqadan

sqadan Member

You may have the same issue with the Deluxe.... 22 watts is still a lot of power and my Deluxe really does not start warming up until around 4 or 5 on the Volume knob.... especially with single coils....

I'd be looking at 5 to 10 watt 1x12 type amps in your situation - if low volume breakup and warmth is what your after.... either that or something with a master volume like the VOX AC15CC1 / AC30CC2...

If your budget will allow it - why not look into an amp with power scaling like the Carr Mercury?

7. Madison

Madison Supporting Member