Should I upgrade my bass, or just buy a better one???

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by clay49, Jan 18, 2015.

1. clay49

clay49 Silver Supporting Member

I have a Fender Squire Jazz Bass, bought it for around $300 (new on Ebay), and it's a pretty decent bass (I'm a guitarist by trade).

I am also a chronic "tinkerer" and always am upgrading pickups and electronics on my guitars, so I'm wondering if it would be better to replace electronics and pickups in this guitar to improve the sound, or maybe just flip it and buy a more expensive model that I won't have to upgrade.

I'll have around 1K to invest, so let me know your thoughts, and what I could get on the used market for 1K.

2. tjontheroad

tjontheroad Supporting Member

New Jersey... YOU GOTTA PROBLEM WITH THAT?!?!
    If you like the way your Squire plays, then just upgrade the pups.

Get yourself over to TalkBass you'll get lots of ideas.

3. clay49

I'll check it out, thanks for your input.

4. Jay Ralston

Jay Ralston Member

For under 1k, you can get a lot of really nice things. Music Man's in almost new condition, tons of MIA Fender basses and many other things. For that money, I would look at a nice used Stingray or Bongo.

5. StratoCraig

StratoCraig Member

I'd say try experimenting with upgrading the electronics first. If you can't get it to be the bass you want, then put the original electronics back on it and sell it. Your upgrade parts can then be used in another bass.

For a Squier, I'd be inclined to rip out all of the electronics, since the pots on Squiers tend to be cheap. For pickups, I recommend the split-coil type that give you a good vintage Jazz sound with hum cancellation (I like Lindy Fralin Split-Coil Jazz pickups, but they're pretty expensive -- Fender Super 55's are a good cheaper alternative if you can find them).

6. Larry Mal

Larry Mal Member

I'd never sink that kind of money or any kind of money into that guitar. Spend the $1k and get yourself a new guitar.