• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Should I wait for the Fulldrive 3?

Dr-Diavolo

Hi guys!

I played a Fulldrive 2 in the store this week, and I have to say, I'm impressed. Should I go for it or wait for the Fulldrive 3 (details below)? Knowing Fulltone, it might be a while before it actually hits the stores. The smaller size is a plus, but are there any Fulldrive 2 owners that could shed some light on the FD2? I'm not experienced enough to make up my mind. Wait or go?

Thanks in advance!

Fulltone June 2013 Newsletter...what's up with the FD3?
Hey everyone!
Sorry for all the time it's taking on the FD3, I got side tracked with the revamped Supa-Trem ST-1 (now shipping) which now has an external volume knob with 15db clean boost ability, the MDV-3 (now shipping), and the incredible True-Stereo Supa-Trem2 ships this week).
The FD3 circuit is finished, the 20% smaller FD2-inspired enclosure is designed and I'm just waiting for the prototype metal box to arrive Thursday (hurry Tim C!) so I can make any changes, ok it, and finish laying out the PCB around that enclosure.
There are so many features I could have gone with but what's most important to me, and to all of you who participated, is that it be able to capture the sound of an Orange circa-1996 FD2.
The problem is that I change pedals at the drop of a hat, when I feel like it, and have never kept any sort of notes over the years. So luckily I have 20+ vintage FD2's tucked away in various corners of my office & studio and we painstakingly blueprinted all the little tweaks that can affect the sound way more than one would think.
Here are some of the features:
*real NOS JRC4558D chip..not the current production NJM4558
*Fulltone-exclusive Order switch which places the Boost either before or after the Overdrive section of the circuit:
OD->BOOST takes whatever sound you have set and increases the Volume so you pop out of the mix.