Should you REALLY pull 2 of 4 power tubes?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by mbruffey, Jan 22, 2006.

1. mbruffey

mbruffey Supporting Member

Another question from Mister Question:

If I have a Fender Custom Twin 15 and pull output tubes 1 and 3 or 2 and 4, will I hurt the amp?

Why would I want to do that? Well, that amp has 4 output tubes, but I want to try other brands of 6l6gc's. I happen to have matched pairs in two other brands. Can I remove all 4 fender original tubes and substitute only two(2) in their place as indicated above--assuming a rebias?

Thanks,

Mark

2. bailnout

bailnout Member

I'm sure someone with WAY more knowledge than I have will jump on this thread to help guide you, but for starters, I don't think you wand to pull 1 and 3 or 2 and 4. I think you would want to pull 1 and 4 or 2 and 3. Like and inside or outside kind of thing. Like I said though, I'm no expert. I know I can do it with my OD-100. It says so in the manual. The only thing it really warns is that you have to drop your ohm setting at the amp to half of what the speaker is. So like if you have an 8 ohm speaker, you need to set the amp to 4 ohms.

Good luck!

3. mbruffey

You certainly could be right, bail. I got the information over on HC, but it _could_ be misinformation, which is one reason I asked here . . . .

" If you take out either the 1st and 3rd together, or the 2nd and 4th together, you end up cutting it's power rating in half." (HC, under regular Twin RI Evals)

Mark

4. bailnout

bailnout Member

yea, I don't know. it could be a different circuit layout for that amp than with mine. But with most of the amps that I've heard that you can do that with it was an inside or outside thing. Do your homework before you do anything though. Would hate to see you f-up your amp. This is a good place to ask though. Lots of perpeller-heads hang out here. :)

5. John Phillips

John Phillips Member