Show me your best Boutique Plexi style amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Blue Eyed Tone, Aug 25, 2008.

1. Blue Eyed Tone

Blue Eyed Tone Member

So I'm wanting to hear from the collective about amps that have a very Marshall Plexi style tone, but are boutique amps, very quiet and ultimately better.

Let me know what you've heard along those lines, amps you own and love love, amps you've heard of but don't have, amps you would love to get. And if you have samples, that is even better!

Thank you!

2. leftyaxeslinger

leftyaxeslinger Supporting Member

I'm no plexi expert, but this one sounds pretty darn good..

Aiken Invader Mk 1
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. Jim Fairbairn

Jim Fairbairn Member

4. soldano16

soldano16 Member

Just curious why that's there. My 68 plexi is stunningly quiet (unless I want otherwise)

5. Zuper

Zuper Supporting Member

:agree Germino is it! (Nice collection, Jim!)

6. meterman

meterman Member

TopHat Emplexador ('97 model, the one on the top) - great amp!! New MkII is supposed to be even better...

[​IMG]

7. jackaroo

jackaroo Member

You're going to get a lot of different answers.

The truth is that the Marshall genetic code has been cracked and is now pretty easily duplicated.

Kits by Ceriatone are inexpensive and damn good sounding. Next step up is the Weber and finally Metro Kits-

I own one (Metro) and it sounds amazing. Mine is a JTM-45 clone. Great platform for that sound for really great money.

Then come your real boutique boys. Germinos get the Allmans thing going real well I'm told- but I bet that's more due to Greg demoing the amps in that styles and him being a southern guy who rips ABB tunes well.