• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Sights set on a Hot Rod Deville for my 1st tube amp, advice?

stratbred

Short version:
Considering a Hot Rod Deville 2 x 12, want to know what to watch out for, including:
1. Durability issues
2. Versatility
3. Advantages/Disadvantages compared to a Hot Rod Deluxe

Long version:
I've been gigging for almost 3 years, finally trying to get serious. I played thru a 100 w Crate SS head/ Marshall 4 x 12 and a SS Crate 65w, 1 12" with a MIK Squier Strat with Lace Sensors, Epi LP with Burstbuckers, and Ibanez RG with EMGs.

I wasn't getting the tone I wanted even with a galaxy of pedals and upgradded p/ups. I borrowed a friends JCM 900 / 1960A, and hated the OD channel, way, way too harsh for my taste, but loved the clean channel when it would break up slightly.

I played nearly everything in Guitar Center, and liked the Hot Rod Deville the most. And it was in my price range. I did some research and found the Hot Rod Deluxe is comparable sans second 12" and 20 watts, and less expensive. Now I'm wondering if I'm going to need the more powerful Deville.

From where I have played, sometimes there isn't a house PA available, so the power is certainly a concern. As I stated, this will be my first full tube amp and I know the wattage is rated differently in SS and tube. My friend has a Peavey tube amp (don't remember the model) with one 12" and it shakes the walls with ease.