Silverface Super Reverb vs Blackface Bandmaster

killa j

Silver Supporting Member
Currently I have a '66 blackface Bandmaster amp. Nothing wrong with it at all. There is a '77 Super Reverb for sale (on Reverb) for basically not much more than my Bandmaster cost. But I could sell my speaker cab and reverb pedal and end up with a Super Reverb and some cash in my pocket.

So, outside of speakers and built in reverb, how much difference is there between the two amps? The Super has a master volume, but from what I understand it's basically like not having one if I dime it.

Would it be silly to sell my Bandmaster to buy a "lesser" version of a Super Reverb? It's not like the BM sounds bad, I've just always wanted a SR.

swiveltung

You want to find out if the MV Super is an ultra linear. You probably don't want that. The BM has never been my favorite amp, and I'm not sure why. But the Reverb/trem circuit of the Fender amps with those features is a bit different sounding... even with reverb or trem turned off. The signal goes thru more "stuff". A Super is heads and tails my favorite Fender am for sure.

killa j

Silver Supporting Member
Alright, to throw a kink in the works, I found a blackface Super Reverb for a little more than twice what my Bandmaster cost. The speakers are not original, but are alnico speakers from a silverface. Would I be crazy to pass that up? There's always the possibility I would have trouble selling the Bandmaster and cabinet, but I think I would be OK.

Last edited:

sideman