Simple Set Up For Home Recording

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by MOON, Feb 9, 2008.

1. MOON

MOON Member

I've been playing guitar on and off for the last 30 years. I'm 53 years old with basic computer knowledge. I want to be able to record to my computer but have no idea of how to do so. I would like to know the simplest and cheapest way of recording to my computer and getting a quality recording. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Gi-gi-giggity

Gi-gi-giggity Member

Computer - Mac/Macbook/iMac (software included = Garageband)

Interface - Apogee Duet

Done.

This will get you off to a more than basic start without even needing to get into micing an amp, etc.

3. MOON

MOON Member

I'm using a Windows based PC. I do not own a Mac. Any other help?

4. SGNick

SGNick Member

You could always try a Zoom H4. it comes with a scaled down version of Cubase, and the manual will help you set up using the H4 as an interface for recording directly to the computer.

Also a good field recorder.

Either that, you you can lookf for an M-audio interface. they're sometimes the stupid deal of the day on MF for 99$

5. Gi-gi-giggity

Gi-gi-giggity Member

Sorry, I didn't catch that.
    I'm not much help with PCs but the mentioned H4 does get good reviews. A few of my friends have them and turn out some really nice sounding stuff.

Good luck.

6. SGNick

SGNick Member

I sure love mine! I posted a few clips on a thread just below this one... one of the ones about the H4 in 4 track mode.

7. jaycee

jaycee Member

Upgrade your soundcard first. There's some decent inexpensive stuff out there depending on what you have for a computer. Then pick up some sequencing software. Reaper is free and i've heard some good things about it. I use Sonar Home Studio. I paid about $169 for it and you get a lot for your money.

8. JackButler

JackButler Supporting Member

I'm sorta in the same boat as Moon.
    A year ago I got a digtal 8track and yet have learned to use it!