Simplify w/ a Blackstone?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by eru, Feb 14, 2008.

1. eru

eru Member

I'm a Student. I have something of a budget, but can't shell out for a top-end amp for another few years (Bachelor's soon and then straight on to a PhD program).

I've also not been playing too long. What I try to do is figure out where cost/benefit is greatest and spend what I have to when I can. I'm actually taking lessons now and I'm fairly sure I know what I'm going to buy when it's time to actually start playing out, but I'm still searching for that illusive bedroom tone.

This has lead me to an interesting solution. Guitars are an '06 G&L Legacy and a '66 RI Epiphone SG-400 (when I fix it). I'm running: RC Booster -> Epiphone Valve Junior Head (ECC31 in preamp, set to break up) -> Hot Plate (as dummy load) -> MXR Super Comp (slight compression, slower attack) -> Hughes & Kettner Edition Blue 15R (master wide open, using clean channel gain for level).

I'm liking what it does. I can go from a nice but not stellar clean to just a bit more distorted than I'd ever actually want by just turning the guitar volume knob from 5-10. And what's cool about it is that the combination of the attenuation and compression means that the volume doesn't change that much between them, but the touch response is still there - dig in a bit harder and it gets a tiny bit louder with more harmonics. It's really cool, but seems way too complicated, and when I do start performing with a larger amp (the second one), it's not exactly the kind of "pedal board" I'd actually like to carry around.