Skreddy Echo Vs Chase Bliss

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by ed_dale007, May 17, 2016.

1. ed_dale007

ed_dale007 Member

I like my skreddy echo but its lack of tap temp really limits it for me. Im thinking about grabbing the new chase bliss delay or maybe a jhs panther cub. Anybody ever compare the two?

2. Super Locrian

Super Locrian Member

I have no first hand experience with the Chase Bliss delay, but it is an analog bucket brigade delay with advanced (digitally controlled) features such as tap tempo amd ramp functions. The Skreddy Echo is a digital delay that emulates a classic tape echo (I assume Echoplex). Having a tap tempo delay alongside the Skreddy Echo is a great combination if you have room for it. If I were you, I would in any case keep the Skreddy Echo, I've yet to find a better tape echo simulation. YMMV.

3. wundergussy

wundergussy Member

I'd say the MLjr is a much more direct comparison if you just want the Skreddy plus tap. They are both digital with an analog voice and have modulation.

4. guitarslinger21

guitarslinger21 Member

Selling the Skreddy can be tempting since the resale value is still high, BUT....

IMO, don't sell it. Nothing sounds like the Skreddy Echo. The perfectly shaved repeats with the perfect amount of ducking = echo perfection. It's one of a kind, and special. It easily becomes part of one's main tone, instead of just another effect.

That said, I REALLY want to try the Chase Bliss. 'Tlooks amazing.

ChampReverb likes this.
  5. Sociophile

Sociophile "Ignore" Button Aficionado Supporting Member

I have both the Skreddy and El Cap, and slightly prefer the El Cap. A DMM into the El Cap is a blissful combination. A DMM into the Skreddy is also very good.

I say keep both!

DryBones likes this.
  6. zoooombiex

zoooombiex Member

The Skreddy and Chase Bliss sound very different. (I have both.)