Sky Blue OD? D-style? What is it? Any good?

Flatscan

Silver Supporting Member
I'm curious about the Sky Blue OD. What does it sound like? How good is it?

All (or most all) of the YouTube demos are quite old and heavily compressed vs. current vids.

Is it a D-style pedal? If so, to what D-style pedals is it similar?

Thanks for your thoughts...

big_fat_turtle

Silver Supporting Member
I never seem to post in this forum unless it's to vouch for this pedal, but it's just because it boggles my mind how few people play this thing.

This is my favorite overdrive ever.

I've been using the SBOD as my main drive for about six years. My other primary drive is an SD9. My first one was stolen a few years ago and I immediately went home and bought another. I've worked in a music store for (too many) years, played tons of new, used, vintage everything and anything pedals, and for me, with a strat into a Fender style amp, it is the absolute shiz. I've had similar success with superstrats that have bridge humbuckers. Never tried it with a neck humbucker. Run it low gain, run it high gain. Run it wide open, run it super compressed. It is stupid versatile.