Skype Guitar Lesson Help?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Matt Campbell, May 10, 2016.

1. Matt Campbell

Matt Campbell Member

Hey guys,

I had posted this topic on some other forums, just looking to hear your opinions.

Basically, in the past 2 months I have noticed some really great improvements in my playing (YAY!!!).
    However, I know that I am not progressing as fast as I want to, because I am largely self/YouTube taught. That said, I have decided that based on my schedule, and my lack of funds as a student, I want to seek out a guitar teacher and take regular lessons. I figured that what I need ideally is a Skype teacher I can see once or twice a month for an hour at a time, and I can pick his/her brain about the techniques I want to learn, and get that experience.

My question to you guys is, without me using Google and finding someone who only paid for the advertising, do you guys know any GOOD, and fairly priced Skype/Online guitar teachers? I know Rob Chapman and Phil X both used to do this, and I know Travis Feaster does, but who else is out there?

I appreciate any info you guys can give me.

Thanks guys!:)
    :band

2. CollyByrne

CollyByrne Member

Hi Matt. i highly recommend Derryl Gabel. Check out his site and his sample videos up on youtube. Amazing player and teacher.

3. MrWulf

MrWulf Member

There's also Dave Davidson. He's a metal guitarist but he's classically trained as a jazz guitarist as well so he knows his stuff. I've studied with him for a few session and he will answer every questions you throw at him really well.

I am going back to the Jamplay/Guitarmastclass/Youtube route though, funnily enough. Maybe I'm not cut out for Skype learning.

4. hobbyplayer

hobbyplayer Member

I think Rob Garland, who is both a member of this site and a Truefire instructor, gives skype lessons.

Phletch and vashondan like this.
  5. Ed DeGenaro

Ed DeGenaro Supporting Member