Slide material

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by K65, Nov 27, 2017.

1. K65

K65 Member

I’ve been getting into slide guitar in open tunings and have tried several different materials and sizes. Not crazy about any of them, but bone and ceramic glazed are pretty close. What sizes and materials do you prefer?

[​IMG]

Trainwreck likes this.
  2. Bluedano1

Bluedano1 Member

I dont play much slide, and I'm a ' slide on pinky' player; I prefer just playing in Standard tuning and really like the glass ( thick but short) Dunlop 212
    - a perfect fit, good tone

fuzz_factor likes this.
  3. 9fingers

9fingers Supporting Member

There are many different grades of ceramic. I do ceramic art for a living and make ceramic slides with high fire fine particle clay & glazes and the sound is more focused than the mid-fire commonly used. There are many different grades/harness of glass too.
    Bone is much softer being a calcium based material vs ceramic and glass being silica based.
    It depends on if you want some "grit" from the slide or a smoother sound. Bone & brass have some grit, with glass and ceramic being smoother sounding. I actually prefer brass on National resonators for the grit and sustain combined. (I don't see brass in your original selection, you might try it). Chromed steel is kinda in-between.
    I do need some weight in a slide for acoustic guitar.
    Nice photo in the OP!

4. snakestretcher

snakestretcher Member

I use two slides; Dunlop #228 heavy chromed brass, and Rock Slide. I like heavy slides; glass is too bulky for me and the ceramics are too slippery. I prefer a slide that gives a bit of friction over the string. I find that excites the string more and brings out more harmonics than some of the super-smooth stuff being touted as 'perfect'.
    These are very good; tapered on the inside for a good fit, and have a little cutout for your first knuckle. http://www.therockslide.com/

Last edited: Nov 28, 2017