Sloppy trem arm on Hwy 1

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by seeker66, Jan 13, 2008.

1. seeker66

seeker66 Member

I have an older Highway One Strat with the synchronized tremolo which I bought used. The problem is that for some reason the trem arm is very loose when screwed into the tremolo itself. There is a 1/4 inch of play at the tip of the arm! I have tried other arms and they are the same. I figure the previous owner must have somehow damaged it. Anyway, I was thinking of drilling and tapping the hole out and making up a new arm. I am a mechanic and have experience wielding a drill. The original thread was a 10-32 and I was going to go with a 12-28. Has anyone else ever done this? Are there repecussions that I am unaware of?

2. David Collins

David Collins Member

If you have 1/4" play at the tip of the arm, somebody must have already done something to it - Fender would never have it that tight and precise out of the factory. :p

Really though, that doesn't seem to far out for most Fenders. If you tap and die a new hole and arm, I'd guess you'll get just as much slop. Perhaps if you cut the arm threads on a lathe you could tighten it up, but if you're doing that I don't know if there's be much reason to enlarge the hole. Just cut some oversize threads on a piece of 3/16" stainless, bend, polish, and off you go. If the threads in the block were damaged I would probably choose to helicoil it back to the original size - makes it easier to replace an arm or even a tip if you have to.

Then there's always the spring, which kinda-sorta works sometimes, or as I know some people do, just wraps some 0000 steel wool around the threads before screwing it in. I'm sure you'll get plenty of other quick fix ideas here. many of which will probably work fine.

3. David Collins

David Collins Member