Small rack for in between head and cab?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by hipfan, Oct 20, 2008.

1. hipfan

hipfan Member

Usually, I don't gravitate towards small racks, but I find myself needing one. :)

With that out of the way, here's my question. I have a H&K Rotosphere and a Boss DD20 that I run in the effects loop of my AC30CC head. Currently, I keep both pedals on top of the head and run remote on/off (and fast/slow, in the case of the Roto) switches on my pedal board. I find this system saves floor space and long cable runs, while giving me all the functions I need for the pedals.

The pedals are cumbersome on top of the head and cover the heat vents. Not good for long term. I'd like to get a small rack that I could perhaps stack in between the head and my 2x12 cab, thus allowing the head to be on top with proper heat venting going on. Does anyone know if such a beast exists? I'm an utter novice when it comes to all things "rack" oriented, so I really don't know where to start.

I suppose I also could try mounting the two pedals to a Pedaltrain mini, but I'm not sure if that would fit on top of the head properly and allow for air circulation, etc...

Thanks for any help!!!

2. hipfan

hipfan Member

Bump. Anyone with an idea for this issue? I'm even open to humorous or belligerent suggestions.

3. LVC

LVC Senior Member

4. NyteOwl

NyteOwl Member

SKB shallow effects rack with a sliding shelf...?

5. hipfan

hipfan Member

LVC - That looks perfect! Thanks very much.

NyteOwl - I'll check out the SKB stuff and see if they have something that fit. Thanks to you too.

6. justinconn

justinconn Member

Hipfan - what kind of remote are you using for your Rotosphere? I'm super curious what you come up with. Please keep us posted!

j​

7. wc8485

wc8485 Member

That's what I use... I set my head on top of it, no issues... been doing it this way for a good while. Its a 4 space skb shallow, contains a furman, tuner, and a chandler SDE.